The Australian Dietary Guidelines

The Australian Dietary Guidelines give advice on how to eat healthy. We all need to eat healthy so that we maintain a healthy body throughout our lives.  They are called the dietary guidelines because what you eat will determine your overall wellbeing.

The Australian Dietary Guidelines have information about the types and amounts of foods, food groups and meal planning to include as part of your healthy eating. 

The aim is to support

  • The promotion of health and wellbeing
  • Reduce the risk of diet-related conditions such as high cholesterol, high blood pressure and obesity
  • Reduce the risk of chronic diseases such as type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular disease, and some cancers.

The Australian Dietary Guidelines are used by health professionals, policymakers, educators, food manufacturers, food retailers and research to support Australians to eat a healthy diet and plan meals. The Australian Dietary Guidelines are used for all Australians with common health conditions such as overweight, obesity and diabetes. They do not apply to people who need special dietary advice for a medical condition, or the frail elderly.

There are five dietary guidelines

  1. To achieve and maintain a healthy weight, be physically active and choose amounts of nutritious foods and drinks to meet your energy needs
  2. Enjoy a wide variety of nutritious foods from the five groups every day
  3. Limit intake of foods containing saturated fat, added salt, added sugars and alcohol
  4. Encourage, support and promote breastfeeding
  5. Care for your food, prepare and store it safely

For more information on the Australian Dietary Guidelines

Let’s Talk

Join our Newsletter